John Wolford of Rams collides with his head

John Wolford of Rams collides with his head

The historic decline in penalty flags helped diminish the spotlight on the NFL administration in 2020. So did the revocation of replay review for passing interference. But soccer’s post-season arrival sparked scrutiny of every questionable call, rule interpretation, and review.

Do not worry. We are here for you. What follows is a real-time breakdown of the calls you shook your head, screamed on the TV for, or confused you during the wild card tour. The most recent plays are at the top.

Ramez RB Cam AkersReverse touch

Wild Rams-Seahawks, 46 seconds left in the first half

what happened: Officials ruled out the Seahawks’ defensive end Carlos Dunlap He stripped the ball from Akers after 3 yards. Thanks to the stuttered recovery, Seahawks cornerback Ryan Neal, Giving Seattle the ball at the 26-yard line from Rams.

How was it resolved: The call has been reversed in review return. The NFL ruled that Akers fell by contact before faltering, and the Rams retained possession.

analyzing: In the end, the league got the game right, but like so many other calls we’ve seen over the weekend, it was hard to believe that NFL caliber officials would see this play as a flop. Akers was lying on his back, the ball folded tightly into his arm, when Dunlap first tried to strip the ball. At least one official judgment was initially held by Akers, but it has been overruled. Views can always be blocked, and sometimes if there are doubts, administrators rule a change to ensure they can be properly adjudicated in replays via automatic review.

But in this case, the reboot could have revised the play regardless of less than two minutes remaining. It was the kind of decision that undermined confidence in the overall efficiency of the organization.

READ  18 серпня 2023 Новини Росії та України

Officials raise the flag on the head of Ramez QB

Rams-Seahawks Wild, 5:40 left in Quarter 1

what happened: As the quarterback rams John Wolford Dove on the ground after running two yards long, Seahawks safety Jamal Adams He lowered his right shoulder and hit Wolford in the head. At first, officials threw the flag against Adams. Wolford left the match and replaced him Jared Goff.

How was it resolved: Referee John Hussey declared that there would be no penalty because Wolford was considered a runner and thus was not subject to the protections normally accorded to midfielders.

analyzing: It is true that Wolford wouldn’t get quarterback protection in that play, but the original flag was still worthy. Still an unnecessary roughness mistake, according to the NFL rulebook, because Wolford was diving to the ground and thus giving up. This means that he is classified as defenseless, and competitors are prohibited from striking the head or neck of these players by force. It was the second year in a row that midfielder Seahawks knocked out a playoff game with a head kick. In this case, Jadeveon Clowney hit the Eagles Quarterback Carson Wentz It was considered symptomatic, not coercive. Meanwhile, Wolford was taken to hospital for precautionary measures, according to a Ramez spokesperson.

How was that not a disorientation by the ponies?

Colts-Bills wild-card, 50 seconds remaining in Q4

what happened: In fourth and tenth places on possession of the final dowries of the game, the recipient Zach Pascal He was credited with hunting 17 yards and falling at the Bills ’46-yard line. Pascal got up and faltered, which Biles had recovered in what could have been a game of clinch. But officials in the field ruled that Pascal fell by contact after falling initially.

How was it resolved: Bills coach Sean McDermott called a time-out because the ponies hurried to the melee streak, but he couldn’t challenge because there was less than two minutes left in the game. During the timeout, NFL Senior Vice President Al Riveron reviewed the call. It was not immediately clear if his review had halted the game, or if McDermott reprized it. Regardless, referee Brad Allen announced that the call would continue without further explanation.

analyzing: The He said the NFL on Twitter There was no clear and clear evidence available to overturn the ruling, and there was no request for a pool report in Buffalo for further clarification. Because the replay seems to confirm that Pascal was not called before he got up, and that he was not disappointed when he lost the ball. We will update this post if NFL or Riveron provide any further explanation. But with all the evidence available at the moment, bills should have been given possession. Had the Colts returned to draw or win the game – the Biles won 27-24 – that decision would have been subject to intense scrutiny.

The watch works after it trips out of bounds

Colts Bills wild-card, 26 seconds left in Q4

what happened: The game’s hour kept running after the Colts receiver Michael Bateman Jr. It fumbled out of bounds.

How was it resolved: The clock did not stop.

analyzing: This play caused quite a stir on social media, but was a proper management of the game. Fumbling out of bounds is different from fumbling out for a player. According to the NFL rulebook: “If a rebound or rebound pass by any player goes out of bounds, the game clock begins with the referee signaling to return the ball to the field of play.”

READ  У столиці Києві відбудеться відкритий чемпіонат з тхеквондо

The bills are charged with two side fishing stations

Colts-Bills wild-card, under two minutes, quarter two

what happened: Bill recipient Gabriel Davis It was credited with side receptions from 37 and 19 yards. Either way, the replays showed frame-by-frame that he might not have lowered both feet.

How was it resolved: Since there was less than two minutes left, an NFL rematch official grounded reviews for both plays. In each case, referee Brad Allen only announced that the original call was in progress. Allen did not explain why an official hat was on the ground as Davis did the first hunt. Often this means that a player or player has run out of bounds and is no longer a eligible recipient.

analyzing: You can make a frame-by-frame judgment that Davis’ left foot touches the white portion of the sideline after the first catch. The same is true for the second reception, where the pulling of the toe may not have been fully implemented before exiting boundaries. But an NFL reboot system requires a much higher level of “maybe”. It should be “clear and clear,” preferably in a live-speed action, that Davis is out of bounds before he gains possession. Had the field judgment been incomplete, the review system would likely have supported this as well.

You May Also Like

About the Author: Selena Craig

"Злий ботанік кави. Аналітик. Невиліковний бекон. Фанат щебет. Типовий шанувальник їжі."

Залишити відповідь

Ваша e-mail адреса не оприлюднюватиметься. Обов’язкові поля позначені *