New David Bowie Tribute album announced: Helado Negro, Khruangbin, We Are KING, and more

New David Bowie Tribute album announced: Helado Negro, Khruangbin, We Are KING, and more

British registry company BBE Music Has announced David Bowie Greetings album. Modern love It arrives on May 28 and features covers from all over the Bowie catalog by Helado Negro, Khruangbin, Jeff Parker, and We are kingMichel Ndegocilo and more. Today, on Bowie’s 74th birthday (and the fifth anniversary of Black star), BBE shared their first single from Modern love. Listen to the cover We Are KingSpace oddityBelow and scroll down for a list of track and LP art illustrated by Corey Mas.

We Are KING’s Amber and Paris Strother said in a press release, “There were so many amazing Bowie compositions to choose from, but“ Space Oddity has always been our favorite. ”It’s very visual; I’ve always felt like traveling back in time in a song. It tells a lively and fictional story about Major Tom’s journey through space and it was a great experience to re-imagine what it would be like to be in the flight. “

Compilation BBE Modern love To highlight Bowie’s relationship with spirit, R&B, jazz, funk, and gospel that influenced his work. The project is curated by Music Executive Director and DJ Drew McFadden, along with BBE Music founder Peter Adarkwah. “I felt the relationship between Bowie and R&B, jazz, funk, gospel and all things spiritual, hadn’t been explored before,” McFadden said in the press materials. “At least not much of the covers, which lean more toward rock and pop. Sure, there have been a lot of Bowie covers over the years, but none of them have really taken advantage of what seems to be a big part of his core musical style and direction.”

Modern love:

01 Miguel Atwood Ferguson: “Life on Mars”
02 Black Ice Cream: ‘Sound and Vision’
03 Kate Sebastian: “lady grinning soul”
04 Jeff Parker / The New Dynasty: “Soul Love” [ft. Ruby Parker]05 Sisa: “The Detroit Panic”
06 the hicks: “the man who sold the world”
07 Khruangbin: “right”
08 Nia Andrews: “Silly Boy Blue”
09 Foxtrot: “Hymn to the Always-On Skeleton Family”
10 L’Rain: “move on”
11 Eddie Chacon / John Carroll Kirby: “tonight”
12 Gunch Mutonu: “modern love”
13 bullion: “where are we now”
14 michelle Ndegocilo: “a wonderful journey”
15 Matthew Tavares: “heroes”
16 we’re king: “space oddity”

You May Also Like

About the Author: Sapphire Robinson

"Хардкорний ботанік в Інтернеті. Гордий фахівець з кави. Науковець із соціальних мереж. Організатор. Провідник. Завзятий наркоман-зомбі. Виродник із ТБ. Дружній студент".

Залишити відповідь

Ваша e-mail адреса не оприлюднюватиметься. Обов’язкові поля позначені *